Rosebuds and Rocks

I am walking through my chosen Path / when I passed by the house of Love

I knocked on Love’s door / and the knob turned and turned

“Do I have it wrong?”, I ask / but there was only silence on the other side

So I / went on my way / as the footprints Silence understand

 

I took a wrong turn / down the dark Fate trodden stairs

Smiling at the bottom of a pit / Love offered a hand

“I thought You weren’t there,” I say / but there was only smile and smoke

So I sat in silence / Let Love sit in with me / as unreasonable my Choices understand

 

I climbed out by myself slashes and shattered / Pieces pressure-pressed into Possibilities

when

I saw Love, beautiful and lone / and this time, I offered myself

“Why do you try?,” Love asked / but there was only Present and Future in our hands

So I / held Love close while I still can / as Abandonment cold sheets will soon understand

 

I finally settled at the end of my Path, strange, changed / and I welcome the visitors from my journey

Fate stood in the door way  and Choices perched on the chair / Future looked out the window

As Present held Past’s hand / Abandonment touched the dusty plates

the Pieces silent across untouched sheets / Possibilities picked the broken glass

“Why?,” I ask / as Love poured scalding Hope into my chalice soul

 

“Oh darling, darling,” a twinkling laugh / “Just write the damn Poem. Isn’t the sky beautiful tonight?”.

Author: Aria Cruz

Writing my own deliverance.

Leave a comment